Hardik Pandya, Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Shikhar Dhawan return from injuries for South Africa ODIs

Hardik Pandya, Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Shikhar Dhawan have returned to India’s ODI squad for the upcoming home series against South Africa, after recovering from their respective injuries. Rohit Sharma, who had sustained a calf injury in New Zealand last month, was not part of the 15-man squad.

India left out Kedar Jadhav, who will turn 35 later this month, Shivam Dube, Shardul Thakur, Mohammed Shami and Mayank Agarwal from the ODI squad that toured New Zealand recently and lost 3-0. India had opened with debutants Prithvi Shaw and Agarwal in those games, and with the return of Dhawan, they retained Shaw as Agarwal was Sharma’s replacement for the ODIs and had scored 36 runs in the series compared to Shaw’s 84.

The squad also saw the return of Shubman Gill who made his ODI debut a year ago in New Zealand.

This was the first squad the partially new selection panel picked after Sunil Joshi took over as the chairman in place of MSK Prasad, and Harvinder Singh took Gagan Khoda.

Squad: Shikhar Dhawan, Prithvi Shaw, Virat Kohli (capt), KL Rahul, Manish Pandey, Shreyas Iyer, Rishabh Pant, Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Yuzvendra Chahal, Jasprit Bumrah, Navdeep Saini, Kuldeep Yadav, Shubman Gill

More to follow…

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *