Recent Match Report – Australia vs New Zealand 1st ODI 2020

Australia won the toss and decided to bat against New Zealand

At an empty SCG, Aaron Finch decided to bat first as the immediate future of sporting events in Australia looked increasingly doubtful due to the coronavirus pandemic.

Pat Cummins and Mitchell Starc have returned after missing the last ODI in South Africa while Mitchell Marsh has been retained in the middle order.

New Zealand have opted to include a second frontline spinner in Ish Sodhi with Tim Southee missing out on the XI as he did in the Sydney Test two months ago. Trent Boult and Lockie Ferguson, who both picked up injuries during the Test series here, return for their first ODIs since the World Cup final.

New Zealand currently hold the Chappell-Hadlee trophy following their series victory in 2017 but have never won a bilateral ODI series in Australia

Australia 1 Aaron Finch (capt), 2 David Warner, 3 Steven Smith, 4 Marnus Labuschagne, 5 D’Arcy Short, 6 Mitchell Marsh, 7 Alex Carey (wk), 8 Pat Cummins, 9 Mitchell Starc, 10 Adam Zampa, 11 Josh Hazlewood

New Zealand 1 Martin Guptill, 2 Henry Nicholls, 3 Kane Williamson (capt), 4 Ross Taylor, 5 Tom Latham (wk), 6 Jimmy Neesham, 7 Colin de Grandhomme, 8 Mitchell Santner, 9 Ish Sodhi, 10 Lockie Ferguson, 11 Trent Boult

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *